Thursday, August 7, 2008


MINSARA KANAVU (மின்சார கனவு) is a tamil musical film directed by Rajiv Menon with starring Prabhu Deva, Aravind Saamy and Kajol released in 1997 which reaped many National and Film Fare Awards.
The film paved the way for the maestro AR Rahman to win his second National Award after his first one for the film Roja. The film was noted for its brilliant and energenetic choreography by Prabhu Deva.

Track Listing
The film features six songs composed by AR Rahman with the lyrics of Vairamuthu. The background scoe was also made by AR Rahman.
1. Vennilave Vennilave : Hariharan, Sadhana Sargam
2. Poo Pookum Osai : Sujatha, Malasia Vasudhevan
3. Mana Madurai : Unni Mennon, KS C hitra, Srinivas
4. Thangathamarai : S.P.Balasubramanium
5. Strawberry Kanne : Krishna Kumar, Sadhana Sargam
6. Anbendra : Anuradha Sriram

Wednesday, August 6, 2008


May Madham (மே மதம்) is a tamil film released on 1994 with the composition AR Rahman. The film was directed by Venus Balu with starring Vineeth.

The film was huge hit all the six songs were also huge hit. Especially the song Minnale sung by SPB was the song mesmerized the fans of AR Rahman.

Track Listing

1. Margazhi Poove - Shoba

2. En Mael Vizhulundha - P. Jeyachandren, Chitra

3. Madras Suthi - Shahul Hameed, Manorama

4. Minnale - SPB

5. Adi Paru Mangatha - Suba

6. Pazhakattu Machanukku - GV. Prakash


LOVE BIRDS (லவ் பிரட்ஸ்) is a 1996 tamil film written directed and produced by famous tamil film director P. Vasu with starring Prabhu Deva and Nagma. The film met a big commercial hit upon release. The choreography of the film was done by Prabhu Deva itself.

The film let a chance for AR Rahman to increases his fame. The sound track and background score of the film was very much appreciated. The film proved that the combination of AR Rahman music with Prabhu Deva dance is the best.

Track Listing

The sound track features 5 songs composed by AR Rahman with the lyrics of Vairamuthu.

1. Come On Come On : Mano

2. Malargaley : Hariharan, K.S.Chitra

3. Naalai Ulagam : Unni Krishnan, Sujatha

4. No Problem : Apache Indian, AR Rahman

5. Samba Samba : Aslam Mustafa


LAKEER - FORBIDDEN LINES (लकीर) is the film released in 2004 featuring music of Indian Wizard AR Rahman. The film was acted by Sunny Deol, Sunil Shetty, John Abraham, Sohail Khan. The film was directed by Ahmed Khan and produced by Vivek Kumar.

Track Listing

The sound track of the film features six songs in composition of AR Rahman and lyrics written by Mehboob.

1. Nachley : Daler Mehndi, Kunal Ganjavala.

2. Paighaam : Shaan, Kavitha Krishnamoorthy

3. Sadiyaan : Hariharan, Udit Narayanan, Sadhana Sargam

4. Offho Jalta Hai : Asha Bhonsle, Sonu Nigam

5. Rozana : Viva

6. Shezaade : Kunal Ganjawala

Saturday, July 12, 2008


LAGAAN (ONCE UPON A TIME IN INDIA) (लगान) is a film acted by Amir Khan Bollywood Super Star which has released in 2001. It became the third Hindi film to be nominated for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film. The film was directed by Ashutosh Gowarikar and the music was composed by the Indian Wizard AR Rahman.

The film gathered critical acclaim and awards at several international film festivals, apart from winning many Bollywood awards. The film, which had its theatrical release on June 15, 2001 became one of the biggest hits of the summer while its DVD sales is the highest ever for a Bollywood movie.

Track Listing

The sound track of the film features six songs with the composition of AR Rahman and lyrics of Javed Akthar.

1. Ghanan Ghanan : Udit Narayanan, Sukwinder Singh, Alka Yagnik, Shankar Mahadevan, Shaan and Chorus (6:11)

2. Mitwa : Udit Narayanan, Sukwinder Singh, Alka Yagnik (6:47)

3. Radha Kaise Na Jale : Asha Bhonsle, Udit Narayan, Vaishali and Chorus (5:34)

4. O Rey Chhori : Udit Narayan, Alka Yagnik, Vasundra Das (5:59)

5. Chale Chalo : AR Rahman, Srinivas (6:40)

6. O Paalanhaare : Lata Mangeshkar, Udit Narayanan and Chorus


The film reaped AR Rahman six awards

2002 Film Fare Best Music Director Award

2002 IIFA Best Music Director Award

2002 National Film Best Music Directior Award

2002 ZEE Cine Award for Best Music Director

2002 Star Screen Award Best Music Director

2002 Star Screen Award Best Background Music Award

Friday, July 11, 2008


Kizhakku Cheemayile 1993 (கிழக்கு சீமையிலே) a Bharathiraja master-piece which helped Rahman to prove that he is capable of cutting the thrills & frills and provide music that captures the emotions vividly.

S.P.B.'s "Maanoothu Mandhayile" once again showed how different he could sound when the situation calls for."Thenkizhakku Seemayile"was a soulful melody bringing out the affection between a brother and sister that till-to-date remains one of Rahman's favourite songs.
Any review of this movie woul be incomplete without mentioning the song "Atthangarai Marame"-in which Vairamuthu teamed up brilliantly with Rahman and provided an instant hit.

Track Listing
1. Anthankara Maramae - Mano, Sujatha

2. Kathazhang kaatu vazhi - P. Jeyachandren, Janaki

3. Maanuthu Mundayilae - S.P.B, Sasirekha

4. Then Kizhaku Chemayilae - Malaysia Vasudevan, Chitra
5. Yedhuku Pondatti - Shahul Hameed, TK.Kala, Sunandha

Tuesday, May 20, 2008


Karuthamma (கருத்தம்மா) is a 1994 Tamil film directed by the famous Tamil director Bharathiraja with the music of AR Rahman. This film proved AR Rahman can also do folk songs very natively.

The soundtrack features six songs with the lyrics of Vairamuthu. The soundtracks of Karuthamma proved once again the team of AR Rahman and Vairamuthu is very good.

Track Listing

1. Thenmerku Paruvakkaru - Unnikrishnan, K.S.Chitra

2. Porale Ponnuthayi - Unnimenon, Sujatha

3. Porale Ponnuthayi - Swarnalatha

4. Pacha Kili Paadum - Shahul Hameed, Minmini

5. Kaadu Potta Kaadu - Bharathiraaja, Malsiya Vasudevan

6. Aarao Aariraro - T.K.Kala, Dheepan Chakravarthy

The soundtrack proved popular upon release. AR Rahman demonstrated his skills in composing for smaller budget films, reflecting themes of rural life, equally effectively.

Songs inspired for native folks and ballads such as both versions of songs "Porale Ponnuthayi", as well as dance inspired compositions like "Thenmerku Paruvakkatru" featured. The music was released to acclaim.